2. Formalities


  1. This Agreement is between all Australian Governments (Governments) and the Coalition of Peaks (referred to collectively as ‘the Parties’).
  2. For the purposes of this Agreement, “Governments” and “Government Parties” refers to the Commonwealth; New South Wales; Victoria; Queensland; Western Australia; South Australia; Tasmania; the Australian Capital Territory; the Northern Territory; and the Australian Local Government Association (ALGA), represented by the Prime Minister, First Ministers of each state and territory and the ALGA President.
  3. The Coalition of Peaks:
    1. are national and state and territory non-government Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peak bodies and certain independent statutory authorities which have responsibility for policies, programs and services related to Closing the Gap
    2. have their governing boards elected by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities and / or organisations which are accountable to that membership.

Term of this Agreement

  1. This Agreement takes effect on 27 July 2020 and will be an ongoing Agreement until replaced by a future Agreement.
  2. The Parties intend this Agreement to be a living document, which will be updated to reflect shared priorities, progress and feedback from Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.